top of page

I finally started listening

For most of my life, I've had a hard time hearing God. Why? Because I thought that I would hear a specific voice telling me to do something. That may be a real thing for some people, and to that I say THAT'S SO COOL! But it's different for me. And I know why God chose this way.

God speaks to me through my words. Now how does that make sense? I'll give you two examples in just the past 24 hours.

In my relationship with Nathan, I have experienced God speaking to us on both ends. When either of us are going through something really hard, the other tends to say something that is wise and perfect for the situation. It's clearly God speaking through us. Because we aren't that smart (Sorry, Nathan. You know it's true.) I wish I could explain it. Just yesterday, I was on the phone with Nathan and was talking him through a difficult situation. Or trying to, at least. To be honest, I never know what I'm doing. I just ramble. And that's where God comes in. At the end of the conversation and prayer, I was amazed. I always am. It's as if I'm listening to someone else say the words I'm saying. How crazy is that?! And it's always what not only he needs to hear, but what I need to hear as well.

Yesterday, I had a voice jury. I have one every semester. For those of you (most of you...) who don't know what a jury is, it's when a music student goes in front of the faculty of their department and performs a song of their choice and then a faculty member picks another song from your repertoire. It's pretty nerve-wracking. I decided to start with a Spanish song I'd only been learning for a month. It fit my voice the best, and though the words were like tongue-twisters, I did it anyway. I was NOT ready. They asked me to do my jury earlier than I had expected because another girl wasn't ready. And so I took a leap of faith and went in. Right before I started singing, I silently said, "Okay, God. I trust you." I don't know how I remembered the words. Two seconds before I had to sing each line, the words just CAME to me. It was insane. That's a God thing. He literally put the words in my mouth.

So, those are two ways God's spoken through me lately. And I'm sure I'll have more stories to come! It's amazing how He choses to use us! He knew that this was the most effective way to get my attention. :)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page