top of page

Serving others

So what does "serving others" mean to you?

For my entire life, I've complained when my mom tells me to do a chore or get her a glass of water. A glass of water. How American am I? Apparently my life is too self centered to get another person a glass of water. I'm laughing out loud at myself right now.

Remember my simplicity project? (if you haven't read it, click here , and here for the update)

Part of the project was simpifying my mind. And to be honest, I had no idea how I was going to do this. This past semester, I had worked on not gossiping and thinking negative things, but I felt like that wasn't enough. I'm still a total butt sometimes and I needed to figure out how to deal with that. I actually improved myself without really realizing it.

My whole life, I've been lazy and selfish with short bursts of love and servitude. That's not how to properly reflect God's love, now is it? My answer: HAHAHAHAHAHA no. I'm so ridiculous.

So I had a mindset the last few weeks.

"What would I be doing if I wasn't doing this? Binge watching a TV show or scrolling through social media mindlessly?"

Slowly, without realizing it, I started to actually want to do things for others! Well, lately it's just my mom that I do things for (because everyone and their grandma is out of town), but I'm sure she doesn't mind!

I don't really know where I'm going with this post, but it's just super cool to look back and realize how much my attitude has changed!

So what does "serving others" mean to me now?

It means putting your own needs or selfishness aside to help someone out. To show them you care. To make them feel loved, supported, or at home. Key thing here? You do it without complaining and without being asked (or without being asked more than once). You go out of your way to see if you can help.

And to be honest, it helps me more than it helps them.

(P.S. I am writing this while I should be vacuuming (such a weird word) and mopping. Sorry, mom! When you gotta write, you gotta write)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page